Developing a Stellar Cannabis Marketing Plan for Your Business
Posted on September 1st, 2023 to Dispensary Marketing
In this article
The path to legalize cannabis on any level has been a rocky road in the state of Florida. Numerous bills (HB 291, SB 710, and HB 343) have been filed in efforts to legalize cannabis on a medical level, most of which died or got shot down somewhere along the path to passing. There have also been more recent efforts to bring adult-use cannabis retail to life in the Sunshine State to no avail just yet.
In December 2022, emergency rules set forth by the Florida Department of Health emerged with the intention of getting medical cannabis to patients in the state. Florida’s state health officials began accepting applications for medical marijuana dispensaries in small batches in early 2023. While getting your foot in the door as a dispensary operator in FL can come as a challenge, here’s what to know about how to open a marijuana dispensary in Florida.
Let us know when you’re ready for a custom website. Along with custom web design & development, we offer other vital marketing services like SEO and Email. Check out our projects to see examples of our work in the wild.
We’ll send curated resources to help you navigate starting your business.
Due to the rules set forth by the state, licenses to open a dispensary in FL are not openly available. Instead, the Department of Health is only accepting licensing applications periodically and in small batches. Those interested in opening a dispensary in FL can only obtain a license to open a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center (MMTC). The state only allows an MMTC license, which grants the license holder permission to perform all tasks within the cannabis business.
Each MMTC in FL must be a vertically integrated establishment. In other words, you will not only be applying to be a dispensary, but you must also obtain authorization to cultivate and process cannabis, distribute cannabis, and even transport cannabis. Therefore, obtaining a dispensary license in FL is a multistep process and more complicated than in other states. Take a look at the steps that can be involved in the process.
The state laws surrounding cannabis in FL are more complicated than most, especially if you intend to step into the business side of the industry. Before you decide that you want to open a FL dispensary, take the time to get familiar with the laws and regulations in the state surrounding cannabis and MMTCs. A few good resources include:
Florida has a stringent list of requirements that must be met for those who are interested in obtaining an MMTC license. During the application process, you will learn that there are several requirements that must be met before you can complete the application. It is best to know these requirements before getting started. For example, applicants must:
Florida’s application process is broken down into three primary parts, and each part can have a number of steps and requirements involved for completion. The general parts include:
Due to the vertically integrated nature of opening a dispensary in FL, the process can be a costly endeavor. The cost for the application alone is $146,000, and this fee is non-refundable. In addition, this license must be renewed every two years after approval at the cost of $1.33 million. Approved applicants are also expected to maintain at least a $2 million performance bond.
The path to obtaining a license to dispense cannabis in FL can be arduous. However, once you get through and start your operation, competition can be fierce. Need help with your marketing plan to make sure your MMTC stands out? That’s what CannaPlanners is all about.
CannaPlanners © 2023